• Slum Village - Fantastic Vol. 2 Instrumentals, 2xLP, Reissue

Slum Village - Fantastic Vol. 2 Instrumentals, 2xLP, Reissue

  • Catalog#: NMG5780-LP
  • Press: US
  • Year: 2024
  • Condition: NEW
  • Availability: In Stock
  • 40.27€

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good
The contributions of the late Detroit producer James DeWitt Yancey - better known to the world as J Dilla- to the world of hip-hop can’t be overstated, and nowhere is his legacy more apparent than his work as a member of Slum Village. A founding member of the trio, (Alongside rappers T3 and Baatin) Dilla provided the groups distinctly esoteric, free-wheeling sound, built around winding basslines, quirky drumbeats, subtle low-end frequencies, and classic jazz & soul samples. After the success of Slum’s 1997 studio debut, Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1, the group went to work on their follow up. Though the project was completed in ‘98, label turmoil kept the project on ice until 2000. By the time Fantastic Volume II hit, Dilla was well on his way to his status as a hip hop legend having produced cuts for Common, Busta Rhymes, Erykah Badu, A Tribe Called Quest and many more. Later works from Slum Village may have had more of an impact sales-wise (in the immediate) but Fantastic Volume II had fans and many critics saying that Slum Village, and Dilla in particular, may single-handedly save rap music. Perhaps that statement is hyperbole but many consider Fantastic Volume II to be Slum Village’s, and J Dilla’s, finest work ever. Ne’Astra now presents the complete Dilla instrumentals from this landmark release.


A1: Intro

A2: Conant Gardens

A3: I Don't Know

A4: Jealousy

A5: Climax (Girl Sh**)

A6: Hold Tight

B1: Tell Me

B2: What It's All About

B3: Forth And Back

B4: Untitled

B5: Fall In Love

C1: Get Dis Money

C2: Raise It Up

C3: Once Upon A Time

C4: Players

C5: Eyes Up

D1: 2 U 4 U

D2: C B 4

D3: Go Ladies

D4: Fall In Love (Remix)